Joppa Stout

I’m not sure why it has taken so long to write about this amazing journey. But since there have been several stories written now, I guess it wont hurt to add a few more lines.

the final beautiful product

the final beautiful product

On 3rd November 2013, my home brew, a dry stout, won Champion beer in the SOBA New Zealand Home Brew Competition. To say I was proud seems insufficient. I was over the moon! SOBA Awards Nov 2013 (800x600)

The Stout style is one I really enjoy. This particular recipe has been brewed many times over the 11 years I have been brewing. The recipe changes a little based on feed back from other brewers but when I participated in brewing this recipe with Steve Plowman at Hallertau on a commercial scale (the prize for winning) I learned so much more.

Over the years, I have added equipment to improve my brews – a wort chiller, a temperature controlled refrigerator, a new mash tun with false bottom – the one thing that I failed to appreciate was how each of the grains taste. As we were milling the grain for the Joppa Stout, Steve would reach in, grab a few and start munching. So I did the same. I had never been able to actually taste each grain in the recipe before because when I buy it, the shop mills it for me. What a revelation. Like any good cook, you need to taste your food along the way – to know what each ingredient is adding to your overall flavour profile. I’m not sure why this had never occurred to me in regards to home brew.

While I can’t possibly afford my own mill, I did taste some of the grains when I next went to the Brewer’s Coop.

Having Hallertau brew my beer was a great experience. I had watched brews before on the old system. But this brew was on the new expanded capacity kit installed mid last year. For the first time, Hallertau would release the SOBA Champion beer in both kegs and bottles.

Barry was kind enough to offer his design skills to come up with a tab badge as well as bottle label. I think it turned out well. We joked about doing a dogue one but not only would it be too expensive, the joke wouldn’t translate to everyone.

My dog as a meme - not a beer label

My dog as a meme – not a beer label

So now “my” beer is available throughout New Zealand any place that the Hallertau beers are sold. Most of the kegs are gone, but you can still get the bottles.

The best part of having a beer with my name on it? My dad getting his picture taken with a Joppa Stout!

Pappa Joppa with a Joppa Stout. Made my old man proud

Poppa Joppa with a Joppa Stout. Made my old man proud

About beeriq

I am formally from San Francisco Bay Area in California where I lived for 17 years before moving to New Zealand. I now have my NZ citizenship. I am a huge fan of craft beer and wish everyone would pay attention to what they eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Beer Business, Beer Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Joppa Stout

  1. It seems to be a great beer. I’ll try to find it here in Brazil. I know it’s going to be hard but who knows? Cheers

    • beeriq says:

      It’s highly unlikely to end up in Brazil as the beer was a one-off. Only 2400L were made and half went into bottles for distribution in New Zealand only. Sorry.

  2. Matt says:

    Really keen to try this beer, do you know if they will ship to Oz? I’m a kiwi who is living in Melbourne at the moment and have told my colleagues NZ beers beat aussie beers hands down, now I need to back it up! (Work) are making me prove it next month with a beer competition, so trying to source our nations best.

    • beeriq says:

      Not sure who still has this, although I did see a couple bottles at Blanc out West (Henderson) last weekend. I know Wilson Moore (grocery chain out of Wellington) bought heaps. They may still have some and you might be able to works something out.

  3. Matt says:

    Awesome thanks for that, will give them a try!

Leave a Reply

