Getting the facts straight

I have been chatting with Simon Gault a few times now. He has pointed out that the Nourish Group has not bought any pubs. Therefore, I would like to follow up to clarify the situation as best I can.

After a lot of publicity on social media, I tried to search the web but was unsuccessful at finding updated information. I ended up calling one of the Cock & Bull pubs and spoke with the staff. I explained what I was trying to find out and why. I was able to determine the following:

In early July when the sale became known (and yes, the beer recipes are part of the deal but C&B will discontinue these and has a contract with Lion), the new owners were identified as the Nourish Group, which Simon has denied. Since then, a new company has become incorporated on 24July, called Danny Brothers. The directors of Danny Brothers, include the Operations Manager at Nourish Group plus and one of the Directors of Nourish Group. This is the company now running C&B.  So this is an entirely separate company from Nourish, in which Simon Gault is a partner. A lot of the issues resulted from the fact that both companies had some of the same people involved.

And what about Mr. Gault?

Well, who could blame Mr Gault for being so hacked off to have his name erroneously associated with such a tragic business decision? Here is my wish, Mr Gault: Please, please, please, would some brilliant chef take advantage of the double digit growth figures for craft beer and offer Auckland the combination of amazing food + amazing craft beer? Hallertau already does this successfully but they are not exactly central CBD (love you guys, see you soon!) There are a few more great craft beer pubs in Auckland but there is room for more. The market is here and ready – just look at the massive success of Beervana in Wellington.  (by the way – post about that coming up soon). Feel free to share that business opportunity idea with any of your other chef friends if you don’t want it. You’re welcome.

About beeriq

I am formally from San Francisco Bay Area in California where I lived for 17 years before moving to New Zealand. I now have my NZ citizenship. I am a huge fan of craft beer and wish everyone would pay attention to what they eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Beer Business and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Getting the facts straight

  1. Tim says:

    I was so disgusted today when I went to the C&B and couldn’t get a pint of Fuggles. The beer was always the best British style, commercially available in Auckland. I’ll be voting with my feet and won’t visit again. Is there anyone to write to so as to let my and my friends’ feelings known?

    • beeriq says:

      One of the suggestions on my previous blog post (in the comment section) was to write to the commerce commission. Basically, it reduces consumer choice. I also recommend you contact Phil Clark (his contact information can be found on the Nourish Website under “contact us” – he is the general manager). Also, If you go to the SOBA website (SOBA.org.nz) there is a comment regarding the C&B sale and it includes a contact phone number for one of the new owners.
      And I agree with you; I really miss Monk’s Habit.

Leave a Reply

