I’m thirsty. What should I have?

Welcome to my blog. My goal, here, is to introduce amazing craft beer brewed in New Zealand to the New Zealand public.

One of the amazing beers I have had recently is from Hawkes Bay – Black Duck Porter. The best comparison I can think of is velvet. This beer is so smooth and chocolate with a full body, it’s like velvet. The bottle I had  poured with a lighter head than I would like on my porters. But the clarity and beautiful black-red colour was enticing. Aromas of cherry, plum, and raisins; almost like a port. And the flavour is reminiscent of a port as well with dark fruit tones nicely balanced by a roasty coffee malt. Overall, this is a beer I would gladly have again. and I would recommend it to anyone who likes chocolate, chocolate, and port.

A good match for this beer is a dark chocolate – the fruit tones in the beer would complement the fruit tone in the dark chocolate. Another option would be smokey BBQ such as chicken or sausages. A possible cheese match would be an smoked hard cheese such as gouda or a nice nutty guyere.

Highly recommended.

About beeriq

I am formally from San Francisco Bay Area in California where I lived for 17 years before moving to New Zealand. I now have my NZ citizenship. I am a huge fan of craft beer and wish everyone would pay attention to what they eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Beer Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

